top of page
Search

Keeping Spirits Up without Spending too much energy!

What can someone do when faced by this dilemma… we need energy to do the things we love to keep our spirits up and fight off depression… but we have little to no energy left after doing everything that MUST be done… there is no easy answer, and it is a most difficult situation to be in.

As for me, I had to push myself to be creative and accept my new limitations and challenge my spirit to make the best of my every day and limitations but also what abilities I still am blessed with.

I learned to crochet which I can do in a reclined position moving only my arms and hands requiring not much use of energy, and I really enjoy making things for my pets, or friends and family, and even donate to my local animal shelter.

I purchased some small canvases and acrylic paints and I began painting by watching YouTube tutorials.

I schedule dates with friends and family to do quiet activities like play a board game, or watch a movie.

I learned I can have a great time flying a kite from my power-chair.

I begin writing a memoir to one day share my experiences to help others, I created this IG account to share my thoughts with others every week.

I joined a facebook group which links people together looking for pen-pals around the world and I now have 4-5 good friends I write to consistently.

I volunteered with my local church to write encouraging letters for women who have been victims of abuse.

I have embraced ‘simple-baking’ and now bake easy 4-5 ingredient recipe desserts and enjoy giving them away to neighbors, friends, acquaintances.

I moved from a home to an apartment so I can enjoy the amenities like the community gym, clubhouse, pool and dog park which allowed me to have lower-energy use access to socialization.

I still fight depression, and I long for treatment, for more energy to get back to more of ‘myself’ and the hobbies I love, in the meantime however, I am proud of how far I have come, and just how many hobbies I am still involved in and enjoying on a regular basis despite my severely limited energy.

Please share, what low-energy hobbies do you enjoy, and help keep your spirits up?


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page