top of page
Search

Your Chronic Illness is now your Full Time Job!

If you’ve become so challenged by your chronic illness that you become unable to work full time any longer… dealing with your chronic illness IS now your full-time job!


I became too sick to work full time gainful employment in 2011 and was awarded SSDI in 2012. For the next several years I remember feeling this desperate pressure to continue to try to work as much as my peers to avoid appearing lazy, or like I was malingering, or worst of all being judged that I was abusing the system.

Although despite my best efforts, I still never managed to work more than about 25 hours per week and never managed to even make the maximum allowed earned income while receiving disability pay, I beat my mind and body down to the bone in an attempt to prove myself to myself and others. Now mind you it wasn’t all for nothing, I was able to achieve additional certifications which led me to be able to help touch a lot of animals and peoples lives in a positive way through my work and that is wonderful, but I cost myself so much undue pain and suffering both physical and emotional along the way, along with alienating so many people in my life because I was always too busy for them.

At some point many years into my now decade and a half journey living with chronic illness, I came to a huge revelation and began to look at things differently.

I realize now that once I became too sick to work full time gainful employment, at that moment my full time job actually became managing my chronic illness! So while I was pushing myself like an insane person for years to work as much as possible, I was actually working a full time job of managing my chronic illness, while working a part time job, all while sick! No wonder I completely burnt out!

My days today I hold a much different, much healthier mind-set around everything in my life. I no longer worry what others may think of me nor their judgements. I start each day with an attitude of my health will receive the bulk of my energy each day, doing everything I possibly can to help care for my bodies needs, and my part-time work takes second place in my priorities, and today I am much healthier and happier for deprioritizing my life!


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page