top of page
Search

If someone wants to know about your Health THEY will put in the effort!

IF SOMEONE WANTS TO UNDERSTAND YOUR HEALTH CONDITION THEY WILL PUT IN THE EFFORT TO LEARN ABOUT IT!…. OTHERWISE DON’T WASTE YOUR ENERGY!


Another hard lesson learned through a decade and a half now of living with chronic illness. I have had people in my life who truly cared about me and showed a genuine interest in learning more about my health challenges, and how my disease affects my day to day life. These people truly listened, and reflected, and did what they could to be sympathetic, and compassionate and really cared about me, all of me.

Then there have been people in my life who were completely disinterested in my health condition, they never asked about it, never showed interest in learning anything about it, or understanding it, or showing any type of compassion towards my challenges living with a rare disease.

Sadly, before I learned the hard way (Ian;t this the way it often goes in life), I put too much energy into those people who were telling me in their lack of words and lack of actions that they simply were not interested. In fact, because i felt so unheard and unseen by these people, these were the people that I seemed to put the MOST effort into trying to explain my situation to them, and to seek any semblance of compassion. BIG MISTAKE! This only left me feeling exhausted, frustrated and hurt.

These days, I am much wiser about who I give what information to, who I explain only the bare minimum about my condition to, who I go into things in more detail. I know now, who truly cares, who just act like they care, and who is giving me all the signs in the world that they actually don’t care at all.

I have learned to be very protection of my energy!



0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page